Apples and Ice Cream

Living a delicious, happy, healthy life

So Far Behind

I had a fantastic holiday season. So fantastic, it seems, that I’ve neglected the blog entirely. Oops. And what’s worse is that I’ve taken pictures of my food, just haven’t posted it. Let’s take the new year to start anew. Yes, let’s. But first, I’m going to start with the 30th of December. Because that makes me feel better about myself ;).

December 30, 2011

Breakfast was the same as ever:

Classic 🙂

Greek yogurt, Diet Coke, and a big banana. Since I got up a little later than usual, I didn’t have a morning snack, but my mom and I headed out around lunch time to do some errands.

Our running-around-town days usually involve lunch at a restaurant – and I’m just about always okay with that! On the 30th, we visited Noodles & Company. I got my usual…

Bread 'n' Noodles!

a small order of Japanese Pan Noodles with sauteed shrimp and half an order of flatbread (the other half went to my mom). There are a few bites missing, because I was hungry and forgot to capture the full meal. It happens, right? (With me, absolutely!)

We finished up our errands, I got a massage, and we needed a little more fuel. Naturally, ice cream was the answer.

Actually, it was frozen yogurt. Menchie’s frozen yogurt. Yum

Cold, creamy, chocolaty

I got mostly French vanilla frozen yogurt, topped with pistachio-flavored fro-yo, strawberry slices, Oreo crumbles, brownie bites, and hot fudge. Oh my yum. It was awesome. The pistachio was incredible. I love that you always get something different at frozen yogurt places. And, it’s never bad. 😉

Though my mom and I had just eaten, Daddy was pretty hungry when we got home. So, we started on dinner.

How very well-rounded you are!

Mustardy fried chicken breasts, steamed broccoli, and a big slice of my grandma’s Swedish spice bread! This is one of my dad’s favorite chicken dishes. As a mustard lover (and a Parmesan cheese lover), I suppose I see why.

I had quite a lazy evening after dinner, just reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. And, you know, eating waffles.

My evening snack was composed of Eggo FiberPlus Chocolate Chip Waffles and Fiber One Original Bran cereal (of course).

Toasty goodness

Times 2!

When I was too tired to read anymore, I headed off to bed.

December 31, 2011

Same ol’ breakfast:

Goodies

I took a yoga class on New Year’s Eve morning, which was when I would typically eat a snack. After yoga, I fueled up with a nice lunch.

Good greens + Unintentional smiley face

The salad included:

  • Baby spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Baby carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Kraft Sun-Dried Tomato Vinaigrette
  • And a few slices of the Braeburn apple on the side

I also ate the rest of the apple (obviously) and an Aunt Millie’s Multi-Whole Grain English muffin. This lovely lunch was followed by a serving of Fiber One Original Bran cereal.

Then, Miss Pippa wanted to go for a walk, so I ventured outside with her for a little over a half an hour. When we got back, I took a shower and got ready to go to dinner with my parents.

We went to the Columbus Fish Market!

Oh my goodness, was it wonderful! I had this lovely creation:

Fish + Greens

Shanghai-style Chilean sea bass with spinach and sticky rice! The Asian flavors totally came through in this dish. I actually enjoyed most of the rice – and I generally hate rice (I ordered the meal for the fish and spinach and sauce). I easily ate all of the fish, about half of the greens, and maybe two-thirds of the rice, plus three chunks of sourdough bread and bites of my parents’ dishes. It was delicious!

And, of course, we couldn’t turn down dessert. Their Sharkfin Pie is incredible (and giant – the three of us couldn’t finish it all). We attacked it too fast to take a picture – a serious tragedy. It’s made with an Oreo crust, butter fudge ice cream, honey-roasted peanuts, fudge, and peanut butter. Ohhhhh it was amazzzzzing. Google it. You’ll find one. Actually, here it is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eatingintranslation/2257842525/. Enjoy! 🙂

After dinner, we dropped my mom off at the house, and my dad and I went to watch the Columbus Blue Jackets lose terribly to the Washington Capitals. That was my Christmas present to him… whoops. Not my fault!

We came home quite tired. I tried to get a little energy by drinking a glass of cold water and eating a serving of Fiber One. Didn’t work. And then all three of us decided we couldn’t stay up until midnight. We’re pretty lame that way sometimes. Oh, well.

January 1, 2012

New year, same breakfast.

Told you 🙂

My mom and I had a few more errands to get done at the mall, so we headed out after she dried off after a soaking-wet walk with Pippa. She was calling the both of them drowned rats. Well, I wouldn’t go quite that far……..

We ate at Panera for lunch, and it was absolutely perfect for such a windy, rainy day.

Cheesy bagel + Soup

And, because we’re twins sometimes, we ordered the exact same thing: an Asiago cheese bagel and a bowl of their Chicken-Noodle Soup. Tasty!

Thankfully, we weren’t out for too long, so we both got a lot accomplished yesterday afternoon! For me, the productive part of the day happened after a snack of Fiber One cereal. 🙂

I dusted, cleaned the bathroom, worked out, practiced my driving skills, studied for an online course I’m finishing, and made dinner.

Well, Daddy did the grilling.

Meat 'n' veggies

We had New York strip steak on a bed of spinach, onion, mushrooms, fresh mint, and fresh parsley, all off a recipe in the January Cuisine at Home magazine (Steak au Poivre salad). Mine was topped with Kraft Sun-Dried Tomato Vinaigrette. As an appetizer, we also had some sourdough bread and Omaha Steaks Shrimp & Crab Parmesan Dip. Sooooo delicious.

After I finished my other chores, I had another serving of Fiber One and…

Chocolate + Apple

… a Braeburn apple, 2 T. of Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams, and a Gnu Flavor & Fiber Chocolate Brownie Bar. Yum!

I then crashed into bed. 🙂

January 2, 2012

Betcha can’t guess what I had for breakfast!

Kidding!

So, I lied. You totally knew that. Again, I slept later today than usual, so I didn’t have a morning snack.

When lunchtime rolled around, Daddy offered to make me an egg sandwich. Like I would refuse!

My attempt at quick & pretty food arranging. My pathetic attempt. 😉

I had it on a 100% Whole-Wheat Bagel Thin with a large Braeburn apple and a clementine.

After lunch, my mom and I decided to go see the new Sherlock Holmes movie. And we liked it. A lot. We’re certainly not movie critics, but it was funny and the action shots were pretty cool. During the movie, I snacked on a few Twizzlers, Sour Patch Watermelon candies, and popcorn.

When we got home, I started (and finished) writing my thank-you notes to people for my Christmas gifts, and we ordered pizza.

Cheesy, chewy goodness

Papa John’s “The Works” pizza with cheese sticks.

Good stuff.

My evening snack was this:

Pretty typical

A Braeburn apple, strawberry Greek yogurt, and Fiber One!

My mom and I started to catch up on our NCIS episodes that we fell behind on over the last month, I started catching up on the blog, and now, I’m off to bed. I go back to school tomorrow!

How was your holiday season?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

