Apples and Ice Cream

Living a delicious, happy, healthy life

Not So Productive…

It’s break-from-school syndrome – I can’t accomplish anything. Today, I sat down to write a paper for an online class I’m trying to finish and got, oh, nowhere. No, I do have an outline done! But that’s the easy part. And then I tried to make more progress in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but I’m tired, so I kept zoning out. That’s okay; I’ll go see the movie with my mom next week after the Christmas craziness dies down a little instead of seeing it Wednesday with my mom and my uncle. Not a big deal. Just gotta remember that! 🙂

Breakfast was the usual – Kroger Honey Greek yogurt, Diet Coke, and a banana.

The lineup!

And it was followed by the usual Fiber One cereal…

Same old, same old

… and a mini Kit-Kat bar from a giant bag my Secret Santa got me.

Crispy, crunchy, chocolaty goodness

I cranked out the outline of my paper between my snack and lunch. And reorganized my notes. Lunch was good, though, even if my achievement wasn’t great.

Yummy stuff

I had 2 clementines (the slices are piled on top of each other… oops!), about 4 ounces of baby carrots, and an open-faced sandwich with leftover Sloppy Italian filling (ground beef sauteed with onions, ketchup, and Sloppy Joe seasoning), the other half of a whole-wheat Sandwich Thin my mom had the other night, and a handful of shredded mozzarella cheese. It was quite the tasty lunch!

I tried to get back to work after lunch and succeeded only in writing the first paragraph of my essay. Woo-hoo! Then, I had another bowl of Fiber One and a banana before heading off to get a massage.

'Nana

When I got back from the massage, I started making the marinade for the steak we had tonight. Then, I laid down for about an hour to read, while snacking on some animal crackers.

Juvenile? Perhaps. Delicious? Definitely.

I love animal crackers. Correction: I love Barnum’s animal crackers. They are the lightest, the crispiest, the best. After my hour was up, I went to go work out. When I got done showering, dinner was served.

Teriyaki steak, another Six Ingredients or Less recipe, was on the menu – and it was  really good, despite being a little heavy on the soy sauce. We served it alongside steamed broccoli seasoned with a little lemon pepper.

Broccoli + steak

I knew productivity wasn’t in the cards for tonight, so I just relaxed with my family. And snacked.

On my plate tonight:

Mmmmmm

A Braeburn apple and 2 slices of whole wheat toast spread with Parkay. It was odd – I took a bite of cookie dough ice cream and realized that I  wasn’t in the mood for anything too sweet. How strange. So, I went for slightly sweet and slightly salty (and very bread-y). Totally hit the spot.

And now I’m off to bed. Driver’s ed tomorrow – wouldn’t want to fall asleep! 😉

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

