Apples and Ice Cream

Living a delicious, happy, healthy life

Changes in Plans

Pippa and I were going to go for a walk. And then the downpour began, leaving me with a whining dog who desperately wanted to go outside. She’s spoiled. 😉

After petting her for a little while, I decided I could use a little pre-workout fuel in the form of…

The snack that smiles back 😀

whole-grain Goldfish! I notice no taste difference between these and regular Goldfish. Not that the nutritional stats are too different, anyhow.

The rain had let up by that point, so my mom took Pippa for a walk while I worked out. Afterwards, we started a black bean soup mix (a pack of ingredients and a lot of water) and I prepared panini. I was informed by Daddy that the soup was…. not his favorite. That’s scary. Turned out, he was right. All we could taste were spices and water, not the beans or bell peppers. So, I figured I needed a new plan for my dinner sides. Since my sandwich was already done and cooling quickly, I chose to eat dinner in two parts.

Part 1: Sandwich

A glimpse of the inside

It's bleeding!

This was quite similar to last week’s panini:

  • 2 slices of Giant Eagle Multigrain Tuscany bread
  • Dietz & Watson turkey
  • 1 slice of mozzarella cheese
  • About a tablespoon of Stonewall Kitchen Maple Chipotle Barbecue sauce (this does tend to bleed through the bread, but it’s so good!)
  • Extra virgin olive oil brushed on

This hit the spot, but I needed more. Hmmm, what to have?

Colors! Produce! Deliciousness!

  • About 3 oz. baby carrots
  • 2 large stalks celery
  • 2 clementines (They’re back! I adore them.)
  • About a tablespoon of Sabra Roasted Garlic Hummus

This was a nice, filling addition to my hot sandwich.

Christmas tree decorating is not happening tonight because my mom has finals this week and is working on a bunch of school assignments. Fun. Maybe Tuesday?  I have finals next week, so I should probably study some, too. More fun.

My mom and grandma went shopping for more Christmas presents today. Mom came back with a treat from Sugardaddy’s. Apparently, they make incredible, creative brownies and blondies. I didn’t imagine how good they would be when I decided to incorporate them into my evening snack. I could have eaten them for dinner. Maybe tomorrow…? 😉

The whole shebang

Since the brownies are super-rich, and I had an overripe pear calling my name, I had a pretty well-rounded snack. I sliced up the pear and grabbed a container of honey Greek yogurt. The yogurt’s tanginess was the perfect compliment for the ridiculously-sweet pear. But let’s get back to the stars of the snack.

OH. MY. GOODNESS.

These brownies are what Sugardaddy’s calls “pocket change”. They’re smaller, crumbly, fudgy chunks of brownie. This flavor is called American Beauty and is a semisweet chocolate brownie swirled with peanut butter and topped with peanuts. It is perfectly sweet and salty and rich. I don’t even know what else to say. Pictures can’t do them justice. Neither can words. Go order something from Sugardaddy’s. Now. They’ll ship your order to you. Just do it. You won’t be sorry.

Alright, now I should get some sleep. There is, of course, school tomorrow. Good night!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

