Apples and Ice Cream

Living a delicious, happy, healthy life

Into the Swing of Things

Today, I will start posting everything I eat. The past two days have been full of family, fun, and food, and I have not taken pictures, so I won’t recount everything I ate, just the highlights. On Thursday, my family and I went to my dad’s parents’ new condo for a big Thanksgiving feast, complete with:

  • Turkey
  • Corn pudding
  • Veggie casserole
  • Rolls
  • Sausage stuffing
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Cranberry-applesauce Jell-O salad
  • Pumpkin pie
  • Homegrown-apple pie (The last one ever. My grandparents just moved away from their old house, where they had a huge vegetable garden and an orchard. We used to get a lot of their produce and apple cider. This pie used up the last of their apples.)
  • Ice cream
And it was insanely delicious. After much catching up, watching football, and playing ping-pong and pool with my grandparents and great-uncle, we left that evening feeling stuffed – in a completely amazing way! And we had leftovers. Even better.
On Friday, we celebrated Thanksgiving, Christmas, and a 50th anniversary with my grandma’s family. Lunch was late, so I ate a turkey sandwich before we left the house, and then snacked on some more food once we got there, including:
  • Shrimp with cocktail sauce
  • Stacy’s Simply Naked Pita Chips and Sabra Roasted Garlic Hummus
  • Delicious cake
  • Deviled eggs
  • Cheez-its
When we got back home, my mom and I went out to run a few errands. While we were out, we grabbed dinner at Noodles & Company, where I got a regular-sized order of Japanese pan noodles and sauteed shrimp. A little while later, we went for dessert at Menchie’s (a frozen yogurt shop). They have the most incredible devil’s food cake yogurt, so I had some of that, topped with dark chocolate chips, strawberries, and hot fudge. De-licious!

Now that the holidays are over for a month, I will focus more on the blog, get into the swing of things (taking pictures, writing, etc.), and by the time Christmas rolls around, I’ll be an old pro. Or not.

Anyhow, breakfast was my usual one – I’ll explain why I keep this meal more or less the same in a few days. But, hey, there is still a picture to go with it. ☺

Honey Greek, Diet Coke, big banana

I am also trying to start working out regularly again, since I feel so, so much better when I get moving. Today I’m off for a Vinyasa yoga class! That should feel amazing after all the sitting I’ve been doing lately!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

